The Council met at Aberystwyth University Campus for a one day meeting on the 12th of October this year.  This was the first time the members of the Council and it's Departments will meet face to face since the constraints of Covid-19.

Euron Hughes.jpg

Euron Hughes

 As part of the Witness Department, Euron leads discussions on matters such as outreach, both digitally and physically, and is currently developing witnessing opportunities in the National Eisteddfod and The Royal Welsh Show.

Owain Llyr.jpg
Churches and their Ministry

Owain Llŷr Evans

Owain Llŷr Evans is a minister of Minny Street Church in Cardiff and leads the Churches and Ministry Department.  Their work consists of developing and encouraging Leaders within churches, pastoring, safeguarding and the work of The Sunday School Council

Mission and the Global Church

Jill-Hailey Harries

Jill-Hailey Harries leads the Mission and Global Church Department.  Its work has particular interest in partnering with the Council for World Mission and their global outreach as well as ecumenical work within Wales. 

Emlyn Davies.png
Christian Citizenship

Emlyn Davies

As Chairman of the Christan Citizen Department, Emlyn Davies leads discussions on the Union's work and partnership with Madagascar, the development of a 'dementia-friendly' churches, Christian Aid and the work with the 'Economy of Life and Climate Change' project.

Chair of the Council

Dafydd Roberts

Dafydd was elected in 2017 to the role of Chairman of the Council.  Born in Trefor, Gwynedd, he served the local churches as a lay-preacher and has been an active member of their District Quarterly Meetings.  He is a member and deacon of Maesyneuadd Church, Trefor.

Council Membership

Council membership consists of two representatives from each of the District Associations (a total of 30 people), together with the officers and staff of the Union (up to 10 people), the officers of the various Council Departments (up to 8 people) and those elected by the Annual Assembly (up to 6 people). This gives a total of about 55 people who are expected to be present when the Council meets.

Everyone at Council attends the meetings of two Departments The names of the Departments are as follows: Mission and the World-wide Church; Christian Citizenship; Churches and their Ministry; Christian Witness.

The Union’s Executive oversees all financial matters while the investments are the responsibility of another, independent, committee.

The Departments

Departments discuss issues and topics which are relevant to them and, following their meetings, their recommendations are considered by the full Council. Minutes and reports from the Council and the Departments are presented to the Union’s Executive and to the Annual Assembly.

It is within the Council that most of the Union’s discussions take place. Topics under consideration might include, among others, themes of a spiritual, missional, social or pastoral nature.



Keep Informed

Receive the latest news, videos and resources.